top of page

Tel Aviv versus Haifa

Before I came to Israel people often suggested that I will move to Tel Aviv, maybe most of them never heard of Haifa, not the biggest city for a real Berlin woman. Close friends knew that I had issues in the small student town where I did my first degree and now they hoped that Haifa will give me everything I want from. After my arrival, I remember that during my first weeks here I got frequently asked why am I in Haifa and not in Tel Aviv and how do I like it. I felt that I need to explain my decision. On the one hand, people living in Tel Aviv have kind of a bad impression of Haifa and felt “sorry” for me living in Haifa. So I asked them how often they have already been here – not many times was the answer. On the other hand, some people in Haifa wanted to show me their rebellious attitude that they moved out of Tel Aviv – some of them because they were sick of it. As a big-city person, used to colorful urban atmosphere, a lot of opportunities, events, creative and vibrant places I started to miss this in Haifa. Sometimes I think Haifa is a bit sleepy, need to wake up and see its potential.

During my research for the Technion I interviewed seven students who took a class called "Planning with the Community" from the Social Hub. Elad is one of them. I interviewed Elad in the center of Tel Aviv. He draw me these maps of Haifa and Tel Aviv and I think they are telling a lot.

He explained me that the main difference between Haifa and Tel Aviv is that Haifa's neighborhoods are spread, not compact and kind of isolated which creates a completely different perception of the city. Elad grew up in Tel Aviv and studied Architecture at the Technion. He told me that he was curious to live in another city and decided first not to live in the dormitories at the Technion for that reason in order to get to know Haifa. When I asked him about a good and nice urban place in Haifa he mentioned the downtown. Why? Because of the density and activity. He believes that "wherever you see more people in the streets" is making the difference of a nice place. So maybe he is right and that density is what I am missing. Not the one of a Times Square in New York or the Hachiko Squarein Tokyo, because they just seem busy and stressful to me. Maybe that nice density of my hometown Berlin.

I am not an urban planner or architect, but I feel that the city could work maybe more and supporting existing initiatives and communities who decided to make something out of the city. This feeling when I walk in the center of Tel Aiv and see people making life Swing music and people gatther and dance charleston and lindy hop. Or selling their art every friday at the market. I want this for Haifa. Informal meetings, informal activities and informal city development. I believe that Haifa need to do some effort if it wants not just to attract but also keep people.

bottom of page